Welcome Note to the Swiss IGF by Federal Councillor Doris Leuthard

The internet is now an established feature of everyday life for most Swiss citizens. Practically all sectors of the economy and the world of work are experiencing pronounced changes, and the rapid development of the information age means that policy is required at various levels.

Topics such as blocking of networks and the availability of content, data protection and Big Data, industry 4.0, network neutrality or the market power of American corporations are ever-present and are becoming increasingly relevant for many people. In order to better understand these challenges and the different opinions, the Swiss Internet Governance Forum, Swiss IGF, will be held once again, in May 2016.

Since 2013, the Swiss IGF has provided an inclusive discussion platform on internet-related topics. Experts from the worlds of politics, business, civil society and the academic and technical communities are brought together to facilitate partnerships through informal dialogue in order to help overcome interdisciplinary barriers.

Last year’s Swiss IGF in Berne proved to be a first-stage success. This makes me confident that we can solve many open questions and upcoming challenges in the tried-and-tested Swiss tradition – through joint open debates, though without resorting to activism or over-regulation. We are ready to continue our support for this process and to promote dialogue between national stakeholders in order to gain better understanding of all these fascinating yet complex topics.

I cordially invite you to actively participate in this year’s Swiss IGF, to communicate all your concerns and help shape the ongoing development of the Swiss IGF.

Doris Leuthard
Federal Councillor

Head of the Federal Department of the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications

(Photo Marc Welti)

Doris Leuthard
Federal Councillor

Head of the Federal Department of the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications

Mot de Bienvenue au Swiss IGF par la Conseillère Fédérale Doris Leuthard

Aujourd’hui, l’internet est bien ancré dans le quotidien de la plupart des Suisses. Pratiquement toutes les branches de l’économie et du monde professionnel subissent de grands bouleversements, et la politique a beaucoup à faire, à différents niveaux, avec les évolutions fulgurantes inhérentes à l’ère de l’information.

Des thèmes comme le verrouillage réseau et la disponibilité des contenus, la protection des données et le big data, l’Industrie 4.0, la neutralité des réseaux ou la puissance des entreprises américaines sur le marché sont omniprésents et de plus en plus importants pour de nombreuses personnes. Le Swiss Internet Governance Forum – le Swiss-IGF – cherche à mieux comprendre les enjeux de ces défis ainsi que les différents points de vue.

Depuis 2013, le Swiss-IGF offre une plateforme de discussion inclusive sur l’utilisation de l’internet. Des experts issus des milieux politiques, de la société civile, du monde académique et de la communauté technique se réunissent pour faciliter les partenariats et établir des ponts entre les différents domaines techniques grâce à un dialogue informel.

Le Swiss-IGF a remporté un franc succès l’année dernière à Berne. Après cette première victoire d’étape, je suis certaine que nous pourrons résoudre de nombreuses questions en suspens et relever les défis futurs dans la solide tradition suisse – au cours de discussions ouvertes et sans céder à un activisme exagéré ni à une régulation excessive. Nous sommes prêts à continuer à soutenir ce processus et à favoriser le dialogue entre les acteurs nationaux, afin de mieux comprendre ces thèmes à la fois passionnants et complexes.

Je vous invite à participer activement au Swiss-IGF de cette année et à son développement, en y abordant toutes vos préoccupations.

Doris Leuthard
Conseillère fédérale
Chef du Département fédéral de l’environnement, des transports, de l’énergie et de la communication

(Photo Marc Welti)

Doris Leuthard
Conseillère fédérale
Chef du Département fédéral de l’environnement, des transports, de l’énergie et de la communication