Swiss IGF 2015: Messages from Bern

The first regular Swiss IGF was held on 19 May 2015 in Bern, Switzerland, assembling around 80 participants duly representing all stakeholder groups of the country. It was conducted in three languages (D,F,E) by providing multilingual inclusiveness. The full-day program (3 plenary and 2 workshop sessions) was based on a prior public call for issues and designed by the Swiss IGF multi-stakeholder steering committee. All sessions were held involving directly all participants in an interactive debate, without needing to resort to panelists.

Key outcomes of the three plenary sessions at the 2015 Swiss IGF

Plenary 1: focused on the Snowden revelations and related consequences for Internet users. Keywords were confidence and trust and how to ensure or achieve data authority and digital self-determination of end users.

  • Citizens face a dilemma put to the fore by the Snowden revelations, as they share sensitive information on networks and platforms. The use of this data by these platforms is not entirely of their choice, with privacy, profiling and big data processing implications.
  • Who can they trust? There is a common feeling that a shared democratic multistakeholder debate is needed, looking for shared responses and solutions, which should include transparency measures, practice-oriented capacity building, coding-in privacy standards by default and awareness-raising, in particular in the education of the younger generation.
  • A potential avenue for going forward suggested by participants: advocate for a democratic international framework addressing these issues, which should have as its pillars the digital self-determination of users, taking into account the trans-border impact of information shared online. It’s not so much about privacy, it’s all about control of personal data.

Plenary 2: focused on security, ISP liabilities, data retention, service level agreements and consumer protection. Keywords were reciprocal responsibilities.

  • Security is a shared responsibility, where end-users, service providers, and technology providers play different roles. The precise delimitation of such roles has to consider technical possibilities, be future-proof and provide for transparency.
  • Proprietary systems vs. Open Source Software. Both have their limits. Open source breeds less responsibility from a single source – but support of the package comes as a shared responsibility, with or without a vendor involved. Proprietary software keeps responsibility high on the vendor itself – but if the vendor goes out of business, support ends. Both scenarios generate strong concerns from users.
  • On service level agreements (SLAs) the just balance has to be found between minimal, understandable, user-friendly rights and an innovation compatible environment. User peer-review of SLAs or simple, commonly agreed labelling might be tools in this regard. This is a socio-political debate, where the limitations of national solutions have to be borne in mind.

Plenary 3: focused on access to content and services – accessibility and its enduring limits.

  • There was wide agreement that although an appropriate national and international legislative framework on accessibility is available, a lot of work remains to be undertaken on its actual implementation, both by private and public actors. Awareness-raising, education and training of specialists is needed. Otherwise we risk a growing divide, as access to new digital services and content grows more and more pervasive, missing the chance for fuller integration and losing the opportunity of reaping the benefits for the wider population which stem from accessibility.
  • Accessibility requirements should be mandatory for all government procurement.
  • On the role of copyright as a possible barrier to a full access to contents, a fact-based approach was advocated. The need to adapt existing rules to the new digital environment and new forms of use, while maintaining pre-existing public interest uses – as for public libraries and the archiving of relevant public digital native content – and established user rights as the possibility of private copying, was identified by participants. In addition, open access solutions for publicly funded scientific publications and research results were also mentioned as a good way forward. Or: Anything paid by the public must be accessible for the public.

(This message from Bern was compiled by our reporting team Jorge Cancio, Olivier MJ Crepin-Leblond and Nicolas Rollier)

Swiss IGF 2015: Messages de Berne

Le premier Swiss IGF ordinaire s’est tenu le 19 mai 2015 à Berne. Il a rassemblé environ 80 représentants de tous les groupes concernés du pays. A des fins d’inclusion, il s’est déroulé en trois langues (D, F, E). Le programme de la journée complète (3 séances plénières et 2 ateliers) était basé sur un appel public préalable de sujets et conçu par le comité directeur multipartite. Toutes les sessions impliquaient l’ensemble des participants dans un débat interactif, sans intervenants extérieurs.

Principaux résultats des trois sessions plénières du Swiss IGF 2015

Plénière 1: Axée sur les révélations Snowden et les conséquences pour les utilisateurs de l’internet. Placée sous le signe de la « confiance », elle abordait la question de savoir comment assurer et réaliser la responsabilité des données et l’autodétermination numérique des utilisateurs finaux.

  • Les citoyens sont confrontés à un dilemme, mis au jour par les révélations Snowden, lorsqu’ils partagent des informations sensibles sur les réseaux et les plateformes. L’utilisation des données par ces plateformes n’est pas uniquement de leur choix, avec des implications sur la sphère privée, le profilage et le traitement du big data.
  • En qui peuvent-ils avoir confiance? De l’avis général, un débat démocratique multipartite est nécessaire, dans le but de chercher des réponses et des solutions communes, et devrait inclure des mesures de transparence, un renforcement des capacités orienté sur la pratique, la codification de normes par défaut relatives à la vie privée et une sensibilisation, notamment dans l’éducation des jeunes générations.
  • Une des voies importantes suggérées par les participants pour avancer: soutenir un réseau démocratique international qui se penche sur ces thèmes, avec pour piliers l’auto-détermination numérique des utilisateurs, en tenant compte de l’impact transfrontalier de l’information partagée en ligne. Il s’agit moins de vie privée que de contrôle sur les données personnelles.

Plénière 2: Axée sur la sécurité, les responsabilités des fournisseurs de services Internet (ISP), la rétention de données, les accords sur le niveau de service et la protection des consommateurs. Placée sous le signe des « responsabilités réciproques ».

  • La sécurité est une responsabilité collective pour laquelle les utilisateurs finaux, les fournisseurs de services et les fournisseurs de technologies jouent différents rôles. La délimitation précise entre ces rôles doit tenir compte des possibilités techniques, être tournée vers l’avenir et favoriser la transparence.
  • Systèmes propriétaires versus programmes open source. Tous deux ont leurs limites. L’open source engendre moins de responsabilités d’une seule source, mais le support du système relève d’une responsabilité collective, impliquant ou non un vendeur. Les programmes propriétaires maintiennent la responsabilité sur le vendeur, mais si celui-ci cesse son activité, le support prend fin lui aussi. Les deux scénarios préoccupent fortement les utilisateurs.
  • Dans des accords sur le niveau de service (service level agreements – SLAs), il convient de trouver le juste équilibre entre des droits minimaux, compréhensibles et conviviaux, et un environnement novateur compatible. Les outils à cet effet peuvent consister en un examen des SLA par les pairs ou en une labellisation simple convenue collectivement. C’est un débat socio-politique où il faut garder à l’esprit les limitations des solutions nationales.

Plénière 3: Axée sur l’accès au contenu et aux services, l’accessibilité et ses limites durables.

  • Il y a un large consensus sur le fait que même avec un cadre législatif national et international approprié sur l’accessibilité, beaucoup reste à faire au niveau de la mise en œuvre par les acteurs privés et publics. Il est nécessaire de sensibiliser, d’éduquer et de former des spécialistes. Sinon, nous risquons de nous diviser à mesure que l’accès aux nouveaux services et contenus numériques se généralise, de rater la chance d’une intégration complète et de manquer l’occasion de récolter les bénéfices pour une large population, qui découlent de l’accessibilité.
  • Les exigences relatives à l’accessibilité devraient être obligatoires pour tous les marchés publics.

Une approche basée sur les faits est préconisée pour le rôle du droit d’auteur en tant que barrière possible à un accès total aux contenus. Les participants ont identifié la nécessité d’adapter les règles existantes au nouvel environnement numérique et aux nouvelles formes d’utilisation, tout en maintenant l’intérêt public préexistant – comme pour les bibliothèques publiques et l’archivage des contenus publics numériques natifs – ainsi que les droits établis des utilisateurs en tant que possibilité d’un copiage privé. En outre, les solutions d’accès libre pour les publications scientifiques et les résultats de recherches financés par des fonds publics ont également été mentionnées comme une bonne manière de progresser. En d’autres termes, tout ce qui est financé par le public