What is the Internet Governance Forum and what are its objectives?

An open dialogue between partners on an equal footing
The Internet Governance Forum (IGF) was created in 2005 in Tunis, following the second UNO World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS). This is a worldwide platform offering all interested parties (governments, business, civil society, technical and scientific circles) the possibility of discussing issues relating to the development of codes of conduct for the internet (Internet Governance). The IGF is an experiment conducted by the UNO outside the usual intergovernmental context of the UNO and which brings together on an equal footing all the representatives of interested parties as partners in the discussion. There are no restrictions on entry and everyone can make their contribution to the IGF.

First understand, then decide
The themes are selected within a participatory framework which starts from the bottom up. Nothing is taboo and no decision is taken. The IGF sets up an interactive dialogue intended to help interested parties worldwide to gain a better understanding of the internet and the other players in this area. In addition, it acts as a catalyst and proposes innovative concepts, solutions and partnerships. It allows all participants from the worlds of politics, business, civil society and technical and scientific circles to take better decisions in their everyday private and professional life.

Global, regional and national levels
Since the first IGF in Athens in 2006, the annual conference has been held every autumn on a different continent and brings together 1500 to 2000 participants. In its wake, dozens of national and regional IGF structures were established spontaneously. In Europe alone, there are currently a dozen national IGFs alongside the European Dialogue on Internet Governance, founded in 2008 (EuroDIG.org); with more than 800 participants, this has become the most important IGF after the global IGF. The IGF structures are interconnected and the discussions are conducted in a network at the three levels (global, regional and national).

An interactive dialogue rather than a panel of experts
The establishment of a Swiss IGF aims to enable Swiss players to interactively discuss among themselves topical questions concerning governance of the internet. The next event, organised for 19 May 2015 in Berne, has the aim of setting up a national IGF exchange platform in Switzerland, enabling all interested parties to give their opinion and to conduct exchanges with players in the worlds of politics, business, civil society and science. As in EuroDIG – the European IGF – the dialogue will not be conducted primarily by a group of experts but, if possible, by all participants on an equal footing.

Partner

Universität St. Gallen  Forschungsstelle für Informationsrecht EN
SWITCH
PARLDIGI
OpenData.ch
Open CH
ITSL (EN)
Internet Society ISOC
EURALO
e-power für die Schweiz
Digitale Allmend
BIS (En)
BAKOM
Asut

Was ist das Internet Governance Forum und was sind seine Ziele?

Offener und gleichberechtigter Dialog
Das Internet Governance Forum (IGF) ist eine vom zweiten UNO-Weltgipfel zur Informationsgesellschaft (WSIS) von 2005 in Tunis geschaffene globale Plattform für einen freien Dialog zwischen allen Stake-holdern (Regierungen, Wirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft, technische Community und Wissenschaft) über die Festlegung der Spielregeln im Internet (Internet Governance). Das IGF ist ein Experiment der UNO, das den üblichen zwischenstaatlichen UNO-Rahmen sprengt und alle Interessenvertreter (Stakeholder) als gleichwertige Diskussionspartner einbezieht. Es gibt keine Eintrittsbarrieren. Jeder kann das IGF mitprägen.

Erst verstehen – dann entscheiden
Die zu diskutierenden Themen werden in einem partizipativen Bottom-up-Prozess ausgewählt. Tabuthemen gibt es keine. Am IGF sollen bewusst keine Entscheidungen getroffen werden, sondern der interaktive Dialog soll allen interessierten Akteuren aus der ganzen Welt helfen, sowohl das Internet als auch die anderen Akteure im Internet besser zu verstehen. Zudem soll das IGF eine Katalysatorfunktion übernehmen und neue Ideen und Lösungsansätze sowie neue Partnerschaften hervorbringen. Es soll alle Teilnehmer aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft, Technik und Wissenschaft befähigen, in ihrem täglichen Leben, beruflich und privat, besser informierte Entscheidungen zu fällen.

Global – regional – national
Seit dem ersten IGF von Athen 2006 findet die jährliche Konferenz jeweils im Herbst auf einem anderen Kontinent statt und wird jeweils von rund 1500 bis 2000 Teilnehmenden besucht. Seitdem haben sich spontan einige Dutzend nationale und regionale IGF-Strukturen gebildet. Allein in Europa gibt es inzwischen mehr als ein Dutzend nationale IGFs sowie seit 2008 den Europäischen Dialog zur Internet Governance (www.EuroDIG.org), der mittlerweile mit über 800 Teilnehmenden zum grössten IGF nach dem globalen gewachsen ist. Die IGF-Strukturen auf allen drei Ebenen – global-regional-national – sind miteinander vernetzt und ihre Diskussionen fliessen ineinander ein.

Interaktiver Dialog statt „Expertenpanels“
Die Gründung eines Schweizer IGFs folgt der Logik, die interessierten Stakeholder auch in der Schweiz zu einem interaktiven Dialog über brennende Fragen zur Internet Governance zusammen zu bringen. Die nächste Veranstaltung vom 19. Mai 2015 in Bern soll ein nationales IGF auch in der Schweiz etablieren, damit alle Interessierten ihre Anliegen einbringen und mit anderen Interessierten aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft, und Wissenschaft austauschen können. Wie beim EuroDIG soll auch der Dialog am Schweizer IGF nicht in erster Linie durch „Experten“ auf einem Panel geführt werden, sondern möglichst alle Teilnehmenden des Anlasses gleichberechtigt einbeziehen.

Partner

Universitaet-St-Gallen-FSI-de
SWITCH
PARLDIGI
OpenData.ch
Open CH
ITSL (De)
Internet Society ISOC
EURALO
e-power für die Schweiz
Digitale Allmend
BIS (De)
BAKOM
Asut